Several candidates and issues were winners in yesterday's vote in our area.

In Miller County in Southwest Arkansas, Jackie Runion has been elected Sheriff, defeating David Slater. Roy John McNatt returns to the County Judge position defeating William Green.

Laney Harris won re-election to the Texarkana Arkansas City Board of Directors Ward 2. Terri Peavy elected to the Board Ward 6. Meanwhile on the Texas side voters kept Jean Matlock on the City Council from Ward 1.

Arkansas voters approved Issue 6 on the ballot which allows for people with certain medical conditions, with a doctor's prescription to obtain medical marijuana.

In Texarkana, Texas voters approved the firefighters collective bargaining issue which allows these workers to vote on whether they want representation and what organization that would be.

In Cass County in Northeast Texas, voters rejected the attempt by Texarkana College to annex the college's service part of the county.

Both Miller County in Arkansas and Bowie County in Texas mirrored the state results with voters going heavily for President-Elect Trump who easily carried both states and won those electoral votes.