Photo Courtesy Texarkana ASD

A Texarkana, Ark., School District Curriculum Specialist, Diana Lowe, has been named to the Governor's Council. Gov. Asa Hutchinson has appointed members to a 16-person council tasked with reviewing Common Core education standards in the state, he announced on Friday. Lowe is the Texarkana Ark., School District secondary curriculum specialist and advanced placement coordinator.

Members of the Governor's Council on Common Core Review were selected from 700 applicants and come "from every corner of the state," Hutchinson's spokesman J.R. Davis said in an email.
Besides Texarkana's Lowe, the council is also composed of Kay Giddens, a parent from Searcy; Scranton Elementary Principal Gary Rhinehart; Lisa Cooper, Northcentral Arkansas Education Services Cooperative teacher; Mike Luttrell, president of Walker Brothers Insurance in Springdale; Nashville Junior High School Assistant Principal Jason Williamson; Theresa Courtney-Ketcher, Forest Park Elementary School Principal in Little Rock; Luke Van De Walle, KIPP Delta Public School chief academic officer in Helena.
Also, Jonathon Guthrie, Lincoln Junior High principal in Bentonville;; Cindy Allen, teacher at Chaffin Junior High in Fort Smith; Jacob Smith, University of Arkansas student from Paragould; Kalven Trice, retired Little Rock resident; Sherry Hicks with First State Bank in Dardanelle; Charisse Dean, a Little Rock parent; Kayla Davidson, Westside Middle School teacher in Jonesboro; and Jeanne Gartman, Sheridan High School teacher.
Hutchinson announced he will be following through on a campaign promise to review the controversial set of math and English standards by announcing the creation of the council at a news conference last month.